7~ VERMONT

AGENCY OF NATURAL RESOURCES

Per Diem and Expense Guide for Environmental
Justice Advisory Council Members

This guide was created to support Environmental Justice Advisory Council Members
access their Per Diem payments, mileage, and meal reimbursements.

Instructions
One time set up:

e Call Donna Viens at (802) 272-4241 with your Social Security Number and mailing
address for payment set up. Payments are made through the State of Vermont’s
Financial System called VISION.

Submitting your form for Per Diem payments:

e The State of Vermont Personal Expense Claim Form needs to be completed to
initiate a payment. Paper versions of the Personal Expense Claim form will be
available at all public meetings held in-person. An online version of the form can be
found here. Email or call Emma Ramirez-Richer, Executive Assistant with the Agency
of Natural Resources, for assistance (emma.ramirez-richer@vermont.gov, 802-261-
5920).

o Per Diem amount is $50.00 per each day spent in performance of duties as
permitted under the relevant Vermont statute (32 V.S.A. § 1010).

o Mileage and meal expense reimbursement rates are based on current state
reimbursement rates (not applicable for online meetings).

e Send completed and signed forms to: emma.ramirez-richer@vermont.gov



https://outside.vermont.gov/agency/anr/EnvironmentalJustice/Shared%20Documents/Administrative%20Resources/Fillable%20Personal%20Expense%20Form.pdf
mailto:emma.ramirez-richer@vermont.gov
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/32/015/01010
https://humanresources.vermont.gov/compensation/expense-reimbursement
https://humanresources.vermont.gov/compensation/expense-reimbursement
mailto:emma.ramirez-richer@vermont.gov
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Frequently Asked Questions

Are the days to be considered Monday through Friday only?
No, the Vermont statute (32 V.S.A. § 1010) does not list any restrictions on the days of
the week board members can be compensated for.

When should the State of Vermont Personal Expense Claim Form be submitted
(e.g. weekly, fortnightly, monthly)?

It is best practice for the spreadsheet to be submitted monthly, however there are not
any rules on the frequency. Reach out to Emma Ramirez-Richer (emma.ramirez-
richer@vermont.gov) if you would like regular reminders to submit your form.

In addition to the Social Security Number, will a W2 or W9 be required for tax
purposes?

No, a W-9 is not required for set up for board members, however the per diem
compensation is considered 1099 reportable income.

May | get compensated for work performed for the Environmental Justice Advisory
Council outside of a public meeting?

For any necessary work performed on day when there is no public meeting, the per
diem rate will be prorated for the actual time spent on the work based on an 8-hour day.
The prorated hourly rate is $6.25. So, if you spend 4 hours working on Environmental
Justice Advisory Council work on a day with no public meetings scheduled, you will be
compensated $25.00 (4 hours x $6.25/hour). Work done on days when there are no
public meetings must be approved by the Director of Civil Rights and Environmental
Justice (Karla Raimundi) to receive reimbursement. The maximum compensation for all
work is $50 per day.

Questions? Reach out to Emma Ramirez-Richer (emma.ramirez-richer@vermont.gov,
802-261-5920).



https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/32/015/01010
mailto:emma.ramirez-richer@vermont.gov
mailto:emma.ramirez-richer@vermont.gov
mailto:Karla.Raimundi@vermont.gov
mailto:emma.ramirez-richer@vermont.gov
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Screenshot of State of Vermont Personal Expense Claim Form

Email emma.ramirez-richer@vermont.gov to request an online PDF version of the form.
Paper versions of the Personal Expense Claim form will be available at all public
meetings held in-person.

State of Vermont Personal Expense Claim AAF6A|
(Not to be used by State of Vermont employees) (04/09)
Name Town of Residence Department/Board or Commission
Address
Position Title
Travel Meals
Date Explanation or reason for payment Miles Amount | Breakfast| Lunch Dinner | Lodging Other |PerDiem| Total
$
$
$
$
$
$
$
$
$
$
Totat ofs - |s - |s - |s - |s - |s - |s - |s
A B Cc D E F G

I certity under the pains and penalties of perjury, that the foregoing is a correct statement of the time actually spent, mileage actually and constructively

traveled, and amount necessarily incurred or paid by me in the discharge of my duties. (32 V.S A 464)

Claimant’s Signature Date Approver's Signature Date

VISION processing only:

Update the withholding information on the voucher as needed: Total amount reportable on a 1099 {Column G)
Total amount NOT reportable on a 1099 (Column A-F)
Total expense reimbursement

D
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